## **ROYAL PHILATELIC SOCIETY OF CANADA (RPSC)**

## 96<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of Members

### Minutes

Sunday, May 26, 2024 3:00 pm Eastern Time

### 1. Call to Order and Appointment of the Secretary

The President, Gregg Redner, called the meeting to order and appointed Jane Sodero as Secretary for the meeting. Approximately 64 members were present.

# 2. Approval of the Minutes of the 94th Annual Meeting of Members held Sunday, June 12, 2022 at the Metro Toronto Convention Center

Motion: Garfield Portch moved to approve the 2023 AGM Minutes. Seconded by Steve Steele. Motion carried.

## 3. Acknowledgement of Deceased Members (June 2023 – May 2024)

The President read the names of RPSC members who died in the past year and called for a moment of silence.

## 4. President's Report

The President's report has been posted on-line. Gregg Redner spoke of the importance of both traditional and modern communications. Redner spoke about the importance of inclusivity of all kinds of collectors, keeping our traditional roles and trying to add more content. Redner also spoke about The RPSC's response to the Governor-General's call for reconciliation. The Royal/Royale will be held in Fredericton and Montreal in 2024 and 2025 respectively.

# 5. Treasurer's Report and Membership Statistics/ Financial Statements for Fiscal Year ending December 31, 2023

John Sharp reported that the statements will be posted on the website shortly as he is waiting for some final numbers. The RPSC is in a good financial position. Total membership stands at 1419 down 90 from last year.

Motion: John Sharp moved the adoption of the draft Financial Statements for 2023. Seconded by Rob Lunn. Motion carried.

Motion: John Sharp moved that Bruce Houser, CPA be appointed as the accountant for the 2023 fiscal year. Seconded by Rob Lunn. Motion carried.

## 6. Directors' and Officers' Reports as Requested by the President

The Directors' and Officers' Reports have been posted to the RPSC website. On a point of Order, Jane Sodero noted that the informational document from The RPSC Philatelic Research Foundation is not a report of The RPSC but that the Foundation is a separate entity from The RPSC.

## 7. Value Proposition and Committee Restructuring

Community – Education – Connection are the new keywords of The RPSC. Gregg Redner explained the new organization of Committees under these headings along with an umbrella committee which are detailed in the report available on The RPSC website.

### 8. 2023 Geldert Medal Recipient

The Medal was awarded to Andrew Chung for his article in the November-December 2023 issue of The Canadian Philatelist – "The Floral Emblems and Coats of Arms of the Provinces and Territories Provinces and Territories".

## 9. Announcement of New RPSC 50-Year Club Members and Presentation of Honorary Life Memberships

For 2023, 16 new 50-Year-Club Members were recognized by the Society.

The new 50-Year-Club Members are:

- Marie Blanche Belleville, QC
- Joseph Cook, WI
- E. David, AB
- Alan Dennis, ON
- Anne Leahy, QC
- Douglas Lingard, FRPSC, ON
- Sikandar Ahmad Madar, ON
- Scott MacLeod, VA
- Lawrence Matthews, ON
- D.G. Park, AB
- Gerhard Peters, ON
- Raymond Rajotte, QC
- John Richardson, BC
- Ian Robertson, ON
- Peter Spencer, ON
- Philatelistische Bibliothek

### 10. Volunteers Programme and Recipients

The President recognized 19 volunteers from across Canada for their work in their local clubs. The honourees for 2024 are:

- Madeleine Carriere
- Martin Goebel
- Sylvia Ficken
- John Walsh
- Carl Strong
- Mark Armstrong
- Marie Olver
- Bob Amaron
- Mattia Guida
- Bob Henderson
- Ken Snelson
- Fred Colbourn
- Ted Swain
- Sean McTeague

- Harv Baessler
- John Hyland
- Tineke Vos
- Judy Galbraith
- William (Bill) Findlay

#### 11. Announcement of Retiring Board Members

Robert Lunn thanked retiring Board members, Jane Sodero, Steve Johnson, Grégoire Teyssier and Joel Weiner for their years of service and contributions to the Board.

#### 12. Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of the New Directors

Rob Lunn presented the report of the Nominating Committee. The following Board members were elected or re-elected to The RPSC Board for a two-year term.

- Dianne Earle (acclamation)
- Alan Hills (acclamation)
- Bruce Pollock (acclamation)
- Gregg Redner (re-election)
- Peter MacDonald (re-election)
- Gordon Smith (filling vacancy)

Motion: Rob Lunn moved to approve the report of the Nominating Committee and the people named be appointed as Directors and to approve the slate of Officers as listed below. Seconded by Mario Chevrette. Motion carried.

- President Gregg Redner
- Vice-President Jane Sodero
- Secretary Phil Visser
- Treasurer John Sharp

#### 13. Presentation of President's Medal

Gregg Redner presented President's Medals to: Joel Weiner, Grégoire Teyssier and Jane Sodero for their contributions to The RSPC and philately in Canada.

## 14. Ratification of all Acts and Proceedings of the Board of Directors and Executive since last Annual Meeting

Motion: BE IT RESOLVED THAT: all by-laws, resolutions, contracts, acts and proceedings of the directors or officers of The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC) enacted, passed, made, done or taken since the last annual meeting of The RPSC be and the same are hereby approved, ratified and confirmed. Moved by Les Selby. Seconded by Garfield Portch. Motion carried.

#### 15. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m. on Sunday, May 26, 2024 on a motion by Garfield Portch.